carving in the forest while gun powder is waiting to explode

I do plan to become a designer—independent, freelance, or under an established brand. It’s not the same animal when it comes to business and salary, but from this pair of eyes the word ‘designer’ just needs to be in the job title. Reflecting on my soon to be graduation due date (it’s a girl!) an equal amount of worry and excitement has been focused on one personal problem: Is there room for me?

This thought has squeezed its annoying medium-sized bombshell into my powder stock of creativity threatening to destroy not propel it all across the college finish line into the world race. How many brands of clothing can any one person recall? (I’ll ask around and get back to you.) And how many newcomers each year? How and where does one keep up with the info constantly juiced like breakfast oj into the computer screen? As some can probably see, my confidence was waning…where was I going with this? Ah, yes…the room.

A personal revelation occurred in that place of the brain that fires like gun powder. Statements are simply the expression of an idea from one individual to another. In the cluttered word forest of fashion I have decided to carve a bit of room for myself, my statements, my designs one at a time. There is some room there that I need to find and I am so glad that you could join me.  Changing the world versus changing my world, we’ll see if they are mutually exclusive.

“The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe.  But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.” ~Friedrich Nietzsche

~ by theroomfor on May 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
